BLOG TOUR + ARC REVIEW: Rush by Gina Gordon

















descriptionIn this edgy, sizzling romance for fans of Monica Murphy and Abbi 
Glines, a bad boy shows a straitlaced law student how to slow down and savor the good things. 

Everly Parker is about to graduate from law school, always busy, and can’t stop rushing through life. Her late grandmother left her a bucket list of meaningful, can’t-miss experiences, but she hasn’t completed a single one. Then searing-hot Max Levin bursts into her world. As a casting director for a porn production company, Max is loaded, cocky, and all wrong for Everly. Still, she’s tempted enough to cross the first item off her list: Go out with someone you’d never give the time of day.

Inheriting a porn empire isn’t every guy’s dream (well, actually, it probably is), but Max isn’t complaining. It’s just that until he meets Everly, he has no idea what he’s been missing. As the pressure mounts to take over the family business, Max can’t help wondering what would happen if he chose Everly instead. So far, his life has been a wild ride, but only Everly promises the greatest rush of all: love.

https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/23166903-rush?ac=1

  
Buy Links  

MY REVIEW

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

Well I didn't except such a story when I requested to review Rush!
I won't lie the first thing that caught my eyes was the cover. You can't deny those abs are beautiful

description

After that, I had to check the blurb and I was sold. I always had a soft spot when a book talks about escort or happening in the porn industry. I'm always curious to see how an author can bring a character alive in a so special environment and still stay true to what it represents.

I've never read a book by Gina Gordon so I was excited to discover a new author with such topic.

description

"You've only got one life to live. You should live it

Max Levin has it all. As vice-president of White Lace Productions, a porn company, he has everything he wanted. At nearly 24, he has power, money and more women he could ever dream of.
But is Max really happy?

"when you grow up with sex toys in the family room, half-naked women at your breakfast table, and lose your virginity to a porn star at sixteen, there's no question you'll follow in your father's footsteps."

Everly Parker is a young lady who as a plan. In a few weeks she will be a lawyer. She will follow the path her parents and herself agreed on since she was born. Everly has only one focus: her studies.
But is it really what she wants?

"I had no idea who I was beside a law student and my parents' daughter, but I was slowly figuring that out. Max was helping me do that, without even knowing it"

When Max and Everly met, neither of them would have guessed how much they would share. What a law student and a porn guy could be doing together?

"My whole life had been built upon three things: making money, finding love, and seeking pleasure

" I knew who I was, and I made damn sure everyone else knew it, to, but, I wasn't sure if that's who I wanted to be"

"He could have any vagina he wanted, whenever he wanted. So why was he working so hard to get mine"

Everly has a bucket list her grandmother gave her. She has only weeks to start AND finish it. She doesn't want to think about it but when Max picks up the list he gave her no choice.

Without understanding why, both of them start a journey of discovery: Discover themselves, who they are, what they want... and be there for each other. Because somewhere along the way, feelings are going to be involved.

It took me some time to see the bigger picture in this book. Everything takes place slowly.
At first, it's a story about a guy and a girl that everything pulls apart but a bucket list gather together.
The story unfolds little by little and the connection between both Max and Everly grows

description

Everly was a flawless character! I loved her so much. I love how she is open-minded, she accept who Max is and what he does. She never has a judgemental thought/idea of what he does for a living.
She takes him as a whole and is even genuinely curious about his work.
Her character could have been easily different, more naive, and more introspective. But not at all. It was such a delight and refreshing to have a character so well developed in such a marvellous story.

Max is pretty confident on what effect he has on people. What attracts him to Everly was how she perceives him.

"She knew I was Max Levin, the porn guy. But she... didn't care"

"I'd been searching for the woman who saw beyond the porn. Just when I thought it was lost, Everly walked into my life. Grateful wasn't event the word to describe the debt I owed this woman."

Their relation is very teasing at first but soon become very sexy and sensual. The sex scenes are totally HOT and very well written. Max wants to take things slow so be prepared for some sexual tension

description

If you are looking for a story with something more, with a meaning behind a girl meets a boy, Rush is perfect for you.

description

Rush is a stand-alone and there's no mention if we will have another story but if the author is up for it. I would love to see what she can do for Ben

description


EXCERPT

I think I might have read the same sentence at least five times.

Something about tort law and insurance? But I wasn’t interested. I was more interested in the conversation going on three tables away. That my two roommates—my best friend, Grace Nolan, and her co-worker/mentor, Sadie Spencer; or rather, Jade and Stella—were actually considering moving from the escort business to porn. I wasn’t surprised. They both had a thirst for life, and Grace had student loans coming out of her ass. I envied their ability to work without a plan, as I needed one. Needed to know where I was going and what I was doing at all times.

Despite my fascination with their career choices, I was even more interested in the six- foot-three inches of rock-solid male who was gentlemanly enough to get out of his seat and help me with my books.

Max Levin.

He was . . . attractive. The kind of attractive that made you do a double take. The kind that made your heart race and your mouth feel like you’d just walked a hundred miles through the desert. And those eyes, like rich, dark chocolate. Those stopped me in my tracks. The man was sex. Not sexy. Not hot. But pure, blissful, orgasmic sex. The act itself. Because just one glance in his direction made you want to pull out a smoke and puff with pure satisfaction.

Not that I’d given it much thought.

I’d only just met the guy, and I so wasn’t that girl. Especially since he seemed to enjoy the sight of my body more than me as a person. Just one look at him and panties dropped with a thud to the floor. But not mine. No, sirree. Mine were still firmly in place.

But the way he looked at me, I’d never been looked at like that before. Not by a friend or lover or even a creeper wanting to get in my pants. I don’t know what kind of magic he practices with those eyes, but I’d feared that if I didn’t get the hell up, I would fall hopelessly under his spell.

I was sitting in my usual booth. In my favorite café. With the same regulars I saw around me three to four nights a week. We all did the same thing, our noses stuck in books or staring blankly at laptop screens. The muted colors of the floor and booths and walls weren’t distracting and were the perfect atmosphere for studying. But the real reason I came here was the coffee.

I brought the white china mug to my mouth. The cappuccino was perfection. Mostly because my favorite barista was working tonight. She had the special coffee-making skills that never failed to brew the perfect warm indulgence.

As for warm indulgences, I had no doubt that Max’s body would be warm, and strong, and— No! The minute he opened his mouth, I knew. Arrogant. Too good-looking for his own good. And he knew it, too. Probably had every wannabe looking for their big break spread their legs just for the chance to become a star.

Despite Max being full of himself, it didn’t stop me from fantasizing instead of studying. It didn’t stop me from sneaking a peek at their table every three seconds, bobbing my head to and from trying to see around the six people who sat in between. Wondering how he conducted his casting calls. If they were filmed. If they required nudity. If they resulted in . . .

I wasn’t a prude. I’d seen those videos. Of innocent women being coaxed into taking off their clothes and then fucked hard and insensitively in every imaginable hole.

I shook my head. It didn’t matter. In what world would an uptight law student with a fear of coloring outside the lines end up with the porn guy?

About the Author

When her dream of becoming a mafia princess didn’t pan out, Gina Gordon went after her second dream: becoming a writer. And she hasn’t looked back. A self-proclaimed happily-ever-after junkie and cupcake connoisseur, Gordon loves spinning contemporary tales of knee-bending first kisses, unconditional love, and super-hot sex. She lives in Milton, Ontario, with her husband and their lovable dog.

Author Links:

Rafflecopter Giveaway (Loveswept Mug, Flirt Mug and Select Title Ebook Bundle)

a Rafflecopter giveaway

1 comment

  1. Fantastically Fun Review! Thank you for hosting!

    ReplyDelete