Review: The Anatomy of Jane by Amelia Lefay


The Anatomy of Jane by Amelia LeFay WJM #1 
Publication Date: May 31, 2016
 Genres: Adult, Contemporary, Erotic, Romance



description
Jane


I’ve always been on my own. My life used to consist of nothing but work, keeping Allen out of trouble, and if I had time, sleep. Then I became their maid. 

Max

Every day more than half a million people tune in to watch my show. They trust me. I know it’s because I’m the only son of the prominent Emerson family. However, I like to believe it because I’m honest no matter what story I report on. I’m honest about everything but the man I’ve been f**king for the last four years… and now her. 

Wesley 

First I want three things: First Maxwell Emerson and Jane Chapman both in my bed. Second, to be the best bloody chef in the country. Third, to figure out how to simultaneously get the first and second things I want without any of us getting hurt. 

THREE PEOPLE. 
ONE LOVE STORY….




My rating: 4 of 5 stars
4.25 STARS

Jane Chapman's an orphan who grew up in the foster care system. Taking care of herself is second nature and alone is the only thing she knows. Then there's two sexy alpha males, Maxwell Emerson and Wesley Uhler. Max and Wes are together but not openly out as a couple. Max comes from a wealthy and prominent family with highly political aspirations. Max's best known as a TV anchorman and being gay or bisexual is the last thing his family wants. Wes, on the other hand, is a world-renowned chef who knows what he wants and isn't afraid to take it. He owns who he is and who he loves.

When Jane comes face-to-face with Max and Wes in the throes of passion, she's hooked.


"It was like I was mesmerized by it… two grown men in love… two men fucking.”


And the attraction is mutual.


Their story is sexy, hot and complicated. I loved each of these characters. Jane for her strength but also her free spirit. Max for his commanding presence and his internal struggle with how he feels and what he wants. And finally, Wes for just being the sexiest, demanding and yet sweet man. What I really enjoyed about this triad was how they fit together. All three of them, balanced and complimented each others' strengths and shortfalls.


The only thing that prevented me from rating this 5 stars, and it could've easily been that for me, was the ending. I'm usually lenient on this trope but in this instance, I was disappointed. It felt a bit cliche and also potentially sets up misunderstandings and heartache down the road. I'll admit, I might be jumping the gun but I'll just have to wait and see!

I definitely recommend this for fans of MM, MWM, anything taboo or that doesn't quite fight society's conventional norms. You should read this! This was a first for Amelia LeFay (JJ McAvoy's pen name) and I'll definitely be reading more. I look forward to book 2.

**ARC provided by author in exchange for an honest review.**
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

Ménage books are a guilty pleasure I enjoy reading from time to time. My favorite of all is Travis by Nicole Williams. It's rare in those kinds of books that the author gets the correct dynamic of a particular couple. It's rare to see that love can be truly equal between 3 people. I was very excited when I learn Amelia Lefay, an author with a pen name that I know very well wanted to venture in this genre.

I'll be a shitty liar if I said that what got me hooked wasn't the sex scenes those three share. But I also can't denied that this story is so much more than sex.

Wes, Jane and Max are hot together and can't keep their hands to each other. Wes & Max are already in some sort of relationship when they meet Jane. But the pull is so strong, they don't question what is it or what it means for them, they just jump head first.

While at first I thought everything was happening a little too fast, in the end I think it fits the story and even more the characters.
Jane has always been alone, with no real family expect Allen and the girls from the strip club she was working at. She's independent; she takes care of herself and doesn't ask much of her life.
Wesley is a Chef who by lust opened a restaurant in Boston. 4 years later, the lust is still there. He's the little dirty secret but don't mind it.
Being in the limelight doesn't help Maxwell. He has to hide who he's and most importantly who's with.

All characters are endearing. You get attached to the bond they create. And you'll be entertained with everything happening in their life.

This is a quick and fast read that I would recommend to all the menage fans but also to people who want to try something new.

~Arc provided by the author in exchange of an honest review ~



About Amelia LeFay

Amelia LeFay is a character of my own imagination. She’s a single woman in her mid twenties in love with sex. Dirty sex, rough sex, sex of any type. She’s not a whore or a slut. She believes a woman should be aloud to sexually express herself anyway she wishes. She stands for Gay Rights, Women’s Rights, the rights of Minorities, and Environmental protection. She can be a bitch but doesn’t think there is anything wrong with that. She has uneven boobs, stretch marks on her ass, astigmatism, and thighs that rub together as she walks. (Which means no pair of jeans last as long as she wishes they would.)
But most importantly Amelia is a Dreamer…she has dreams so big it scares even her, because if she fails…if she can’t make it…she feels like nothing.


No comments